{Book Review}: Make Up Break Up by Lily Menon

My Review:⭐️⭐⭐/ 5 stars 

This new contemporary romance novel follows the story of Annika Dev, CEO and Founder of Make Up – an app that helps couples communicate in failing relationships. Her archnemesis and ex one-night stand , Hudson Craft, also has an app called Break Up – that aids people cut ties with their significant others. To make matters worse, his company moves to the same building as Make Up – and now they are vying for the same EPIC Investment Pitch in San Francisco. Annika NEEDS this money – her business is not making money yet and she will lose the lease to her office space. Annika and Hudson clash and flirt – finding their chemistry undeniable. 

Romance novels are such a hit or miss for me and I really wanted to like this one so much more. Annika was just so unlikeable, blaming everyone else for her problems and being so tough on Hudson. She seemed completely unable to function on her own, much less run a brand new company. And Hudson is pretty one dimensional – the ending also very unrealistic and felt a bit rushed for dramatic effect. My favorite character is probably Annika’s dad – probably the most reasonable of the bunch. Although there were parts I did enjoy, this one was not my favorite.

Thank you to St. Martins Press Griffin  and Netgalley for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest review! 

US Pub Date: February 2, 2021

Published by Tina Long

My name is Tina Long. I am an avid book reader in all forms - love the smell of a new book, the great find at a used bookstore, and convenience of a story on my kindle.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started